RSS Feed

Chicken Apple Sausage Strata

I’ve been MIA is an understatement.

Life happened. Back to school, back to work, back to no time to do anything except work, workout, cook, sleep. Repeat. Boring.  I won’t lie. I get the back to school blues. Now I love my job, but I love my summer schedule. Cooking, working out, cleaning, wine. Sounds perfect.

Enough complaining, no time for that. A month ago my familia came into town and I had so many delicious breakfast bakes in mind to try out. This one I had to try out immediately. I’ve gotten a little off track with trying to make a special breakfast at least one morning on the weekends. I am hoping that changes soon, scratch that. It will change soon.

This was a popular treat! We made it the night before after an amazing dinner at Citizen Kane’s.

 

Chicken Apple Sausage Strata

  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 lb mild pork sausage (I use turkey sausage)
  • 2 large Granny Smith apples thinly sliced
  • 12 pieces day old white bread, cubed
  • 9 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 3/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 cups Cheddar-Jack cheese
Directions
1. Heat oil in skillet. Brown sausage. Remove and place in large bowl. Add apples to the skillet and cook until golden brown. Add apples and bread to large bowl with sausage.
2. In another bowl, mix eggs, milk, salt, pepper, and mustard.  Add the egg mixture to the sausage mixture and stir in 1 cup of cheese. Pour into a greased 9 x 11 pan.  Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.
3. Preheat oven to 350. Bake egg dish for 30 minutes. Sprinkle on remaining cheese and bake for an additional 15 minutes, or until cooked through.

Source: The Sweets Life

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

