RSS Feed

Summer Tomatoes, Corn, Crab and Avocado Salad

Hooray. Another salad that has some of my favorite things in. Combine it together and you have a perfect and quick summer dish. And this is a good looking. So bright and colorful it makes me happy. And my tastebuds.

This could easily be served with chips for a dip, over some lettuce or spinach as a salad, or in a tostada which is what we did. Or you can just eat it plain. Which is what I started doing. But probably should not admit.

So this fun salad would be great for a quick leftover lunch. Yes lunch. I’m back to work which means planning my lunches ahead of time. And even worse, no more wine. Yeah, that is a lie. Now I sip water as I cook meals unless it is Friday or Saturday. Or if the kids are just a little cuckoo. Good thing I love my job.

Back to drinking my water pretending it is something else.

Summer Tomatoes, Corn, Crab and Avocado Salad

Adapted from: Skinnytaste

  • 12 oz lump crab meat (fresh is best, but we used can)
  • 1 pint red cherry tomatoes cut in half
  • 1 avocado diced
  • 2 hot peppers (I used jalapenos)
  • 1 1/2 cup roasted corn (they sell this at Trader Joes, or you can do it yourself)
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 limes, juice of
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions:
In a small bowl combine red onion, lime juice, olive oil, pinch of salt and pepper. Let them marinate at least 5 minutes to mellow the flavor of the onion.In a large bowl combine chopped crab meat, avocado, tomatoes, hot pepper and corn. Combine all the ingredients together, add cilantro and toss. Adjust lime juice, salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

