RSS Feed

Puffy Apple Oven Pancakes

There was a phase when, I did not like any breakfast food. Eggs? Yuck. French Toast? Gross. Pancakes? Ugh. Bacon? Gag me. Thankfully one day I woke up (obviously) and that changed. Not the bacon part, no thanks.

To be a bit sentimental here for a quick second, growing up on Sunday mornings my Mom and brother and I ventured to church. My Dad stayed home and whipped up special Sunday breakfast. French toast, Mickey Mouse pancakes, and eggs.

I have attempted to recreate that tradition with hubs and me. Note the word attempt. So far I have not been very successful. When you are out of town, going out of town, had too much wine fun the night before, to plan and prepare. But that is going to change. I have a gazillion breakfast dishes I want to try from blogs, cookbooks, and magazines.

Enter this recipe. I may or may not have been shocked that I did not receive the Betty Crocker cookbook for our wedding. I was still talking about it, and my Mom finally got it for me. She uses the Betty Crocker cookbook for EVERYTHING. Maybe not, but it sounds better. I thought every woman had the Betty Crocker cookbook. I was wrong.  As I was paging through the book, these caught my eye.  We had all the ingredients on hand.

And tada, we had a tasty breakfast. Pretty good and I’d say a little different. I don’t venture to IHOP, ever, but I’ve heard these are similar to a pancake they have.

Puffy Apple Oven Pancake

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

2 large eggs

½ cup all purpose flour*

½ cup milk

¼ teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons brown sugar

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup (1 Medium) thinly sliced baking apple

Lemon juice, powdered sugar, maple syrup, or cut up fruit, if desired.

What to do:

1.Heat oven to 400. In 9-inch pie plate, melt butter in oven; brush butter over bottom and side of pie plate.

2. IN medium bowl, beat eggs slightly with wire whisk or hand beater. Beat in flour, milk, and salt until mixed (do not overbeat or pancake may not puff). Pour into pie plate.

3. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until puffy and deep golden brown. Serve immediately sprinkled with maple syrup and powdered sugar if desired.

 Double Oven Pancake (what we made)

Melt 1/3 cup of butter or margarine in 13×9-inch pan. Use 4 large eggs, 1 cup all-purpose flour, 1 cup milk, and ¼ teaspoon salt.

*Do not use self-rising flour

 

Source: Betty Crocker Cookbook

Leave a Reply

